Lost Memories

bosque 088

I did not have to think long about this week’s weekly challenge – Moved by Music.  About a year ago I was sitting at work with my mp3 player set on random when a song came on by Fleetwood Mac called Silver Springs.  I was literally blown away, I am not sure exactly why it caused this reaction but it got very strong as the song went on, especially when Stevie Nicks starts the chorus – “Time cast a spell on you, but you won’t forget me, I know I could have loved you but would not let me…”

Whatever it was, I had to get up from my desk and go outside, I did get a bit choked up and I don’t know why.  I don’t know why I am still reacting this way to this song.  When I watched the video tonight, it hit me again.

I am guessing there was a relationship in my past that I somehow attached to this song, and apparently there was a lot of pain involved.  A while back, I started down a path in life where I was told ‘more will be revealed’, what I have learned is that memories have returned a little bit at a time.  I can’t imagine what would happen if everything I ever did was suddenly revealed to me, however I can see a vision of me pulling my hair out while running into traffic!

Silver Springs is such a powerful song about lost love and I would imagine Lindsey Buckingham felt about an inch tall as Stevie was singing about their relationship and how it ended.  I have had lost love in my life, but not a huge number of relationships so this should not be so difficult for me, but it is.  I guess my mind has decided to keep this little facet of my past hidden for a while longer, which I am okay with.  I have a wonderful life now, happily married and loving life as it comes.  And even if the floodgates holding back the memories do burst open a bit more and this mystery is solved, what it will probably bring is a profound sense of loss and more than likely some amends will need to be made.  All in all I still love this song and even though it makes me feel goofy and mushy, I will continue to listen to it.  I will just keep a hanky near.

DPchallenge

5 responses to “Lost Memories

  1. Pingback: Once Upon A Time, We Were Invincible | Ramisa the Authoress·

  2. Pingback: Drown it Out In A Good Tune | My Days In A Song·

  3. Pingback: of leaving « Anawnimiss·

  4. These tooth whitening programs will probably be tailored to you individually and will
    probably give the best results. You can visit
    one of your leading cosmetic dentists at Knoxville Tennessee to get
    your tooth whitening done. If having a mold in your mouth does not suit
    you,tooth whitening strips have been used with great success.

What do you think?

