How much multitasking is too much?

I grew up in the 60s. My high tech gadget at the time was my James Bond briefcase that had all sorts of secret stuff including a hidden camera.  It was truly a marvel of modern science.  The next door neighbor and I had a top secret communication device, 2 cans and a string.  This enabled us to talk in private and not rely on somebody listening on the party line.  It is incredible the progress we have made in technology since then and I really got a laugh from a story about the Voyager spacecraft this past week.  The data are saved on an 8 track tape!  The marvelous part is that 30 years or so ago it took off and I doubt if anybody had any hope of it lasting this long.  They just don’t make stuff like they used to.

About 15 years ago I decided that I was being left behind by the computer age so I figured I had best jump on board.  I did have some experience, in the early 80s I went through a programming class at TVI and we used punch cards.  That was a brutal experience that scarred me for years!  So now I try to have the next to latest gadgets, there is no way I can keep up with the absolute latest, my job depends on 1s and 0s, I spend all day creating 3D models on a souped-up computer.  When I get to work I run my finger over the biometrically operated time clock.  So I am now quite comfortable with technology but still there are some things I will never understand.  Such as a contest I heard about a couple of years ago where a young lady, maybe 12 or so was able to text supercalifragilisticexpialidocious in 30 seconds or so and won thousands of dollars as a prize.

And the high tech toys that are out now are truly amazing.  Now you can sit your toddler down with a teaching tutor and the kid can have an interactive playtime and learn calculus.  One of my greatest thrills as a kid was watching my G.I. Joe action figure, the one with a parachute, come floating down to earth to join the battle taking place in the yard.  I do feel blessed that I am to witness and be a part of this technology renaissance, it is fun to think about what is coming next month!

What do you think?

